Getting some good healthy exercise.

It was a beautiful, but chilly day today so I decided to take my dog for a long overdue walk. He’s a small mixed breed dog, and though he should only weigh about 12 to 15lbs, he weighs about 25lbs. Like me, he’s overweight. He’s 9yrs old, but in people age, he’s 56, just 4 yrs younger than me, I’ll be 60 in June, so we’re both seniors so we need our exercise.

Where I live is smack dab in the middle of Amish country, and part of the road I live on is a gravel road for the buggies, it’s chilly, winding, and barely big enough for two cars, at any rate, me and my granddaughter took my dog for a walk down the road and we walked about a 1/4 mile before turning around and going back. So essentially we walked half a mile round trip. It felt good to walk that distance and I made a goal for myself to eventually walk around the block, which is about 4 miles. That doesn’t sound like much, but it is when you’re my age.


Leave a comment